The Raven Boys

Stiefvater, M. (2012). The Raven boys. NY: Scholastic.

Book 1 in the series: The Raven Cycle.

Blue is the only ordinary, surrounded by extraordinary. Blue’s mom is psychic, her aunts are psychic, her cousins, and even her mom’s friends are psychic. While Blue herself can’t hear, see, or do the things they can, she makes their powers stronger when she is near. Blue has also had her future laid out for her since she was little – after she kisses her true love, he will die. When she meets Gansey and his Aglionby friends she may have met her true love, but will she kill him? Or will she save him and his friends from things that could be worse than death – I mean, stepping out of your own skin, or being trampled by a herd of beasts has got to be bad! I loved this book so much! I have read all of the series and am waiting (not so patiently) for the 4th and final installment to the series – The Raven King. I listened to all of them as audiobooks, and I am positive that Will Patton’s voice will forever be burned into my brain as Gansey’s laid back southern drawl. The Welsh King the boys are searching for is real and turns this series into an epic quest rather than just another paranormal fantasy. I would recommend this novel to 7th graders and up.


Book trailer

Author’s website

Teacher resources

Interview with author

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s